Quick Search:
Quick Jump:

Announcements
Latest Topics

Sample Plugin Documentation
By: DougLu
Topics: 4
Added: 01/20/2011 - 03:28 AM

Is there any additional documentation on the SamplePlugin install. I've set up a pic microprocessor and have it communicating with the X10 plugin', and would now like to wrap my head around the Plugin side. I've compiled and installed the sampleplugin dll in the plugin/web folder but it does not show up on the plugin list. I assume there are variables which need to be set (configpath, dllpath) but I'm not sure where. I'm new to C# but luckily it's close enough to C++ that I can find my way around. Any help is greatly appreciated.
By: sse
Topics: 73
Added: 01/20/2011 - 04:50 AM

Doug, if you enable the Debug Info, the debug log will contain information about the plugins found on startup.

Remove all but the sample plugin and your own new plugin from the plugin folder and you should be able to find out why your plugin is not detected the way it should.

Here's an example of what you should see in the log file
08:30:36 Analyzing C:\Program Files (x86)\AbelCam\Plugin\Web\SamplePlugin.dll 
08:30:36 Interface Name matches: AbelCam.IWebPlugin, analyzing Methods: 
08:30:36 interfaceVersion() 
08:30:36 Plugin Method interfaceVersion ok
By: MelvinG
Topics: 661
Added: 01/20/2011 - 07:55 AM

Author of X10 Plugins here...

Those variables (configpath, dllpath) you asked about: you don't need to set them. Look at the startPlugin method - when AbelCam calls that method to start your code it gives you the values in the arguments. IOW AbelCam tells you "where you live" (dllpath) and where the configs are stored (configpath).