Quick Search:
Quick Jump:

Announcements
Latest Topics

Image Resizing Down [Resolved]
By: AllenWa
Topics: 13
Added: 08/18/2010 - 02:11 PM

I'm new to AbelCam, and so far it does everything I could want, and then some. I'm running into one problem I hope I can get resolved and then I can pick up the pro version.

I have a USB Webcam, (Microsoft LifeCam VX-1000), which supports up to 640x480. I have this selected for both Input and Output on the Camera configuration screen. Using TyCapture for the Capture Interface. The "Preview" seems to be the full 640x480 however the Motion detection video recording gives me this error in the log:
08:05:16 Video Save Microsoft LifeCam VX-1000-1 warning image resizing from 320x240 to 640x480

The Video comes out as 320x240, and so does the still images from the motion detection.

I've tried re-adding and reconfiguring the camera, selecting a different resolution and then re selecting the 640x480, but it still does not use the higher resolution.

I'm thinking about getting a higher quality webcam to use with AbelCam, and it goes up to 720p. Does Abelcam support 640x480 (and higher) with the Recording of videos for Motion Detection?

By: sse
Topics: 73
Added: 08/18/2010 - 10:20 PM

The size on video recording depends on the codec used.
You need to play around with the codecs available on your system to find out which one(s) allow the resolution you want.

AbelCam does not limit the size for video recording, so - Yes, Abelcam does support 640x480 (and higher) with the Recording of videos for Motion Detection
Added: 08/18/2010 - 11:04 PM

Hi SSE,

Thanks for the reply. I'm using TyCapture and pairing that with WMV Version 8, Profile: Windows Media Video 8 for Broadband (NTSC, 1400 Kbps). There doesn't seem to be any setting on resolution, (I've already tried a few different WMV8 Profiles, with only change in quality not resolution). I tried WMV9 and the video, including overlay was blurry beyond usefulness.