Quick Search:
Quick Jump:

Announcements
Latest Topics

video server ports collision
By: JohnMa
Topics: 31
Added: 09/14/2009 - 07:37 AM

I have been using AbelCam for several years with one camera. Love it. Great program. Thanks very much for it. I originally used it with a Logitech MP, then upgraded to a Logitech AF.

I recently bought a license for a second camera so I could run both Logitech cameras. I now have the Logitech AF and the Logitech MP both connected to the same computer. When I try to add the second camera in AbelCam, I get an error message saying: "Video server ports collision . . ." I click OK, and then have both cameras listed, but can't get them to both work. The second camera stays off line and can't be put on line. Am I supposed to change a port setting for one of the cameras?

By the way, in answer to why I don't have my camera listed on your site, I have tried. I check the box to list it, but it never shows up on your site.
By: sse
Topics: 73
Added: 09/14/2009 - 06:43 PM

Hello John
the video server port collision should not matter as long as you don't enable the video server (WMV) on both cameras.
Try changing the port on the active camera before adding the second one.

Strange you can't get your cam(s) listed - let me know when last you tried to get listed and I'll check the logs on my end.
Added: 09/15/2009 - 07:51 AM

Is there any particular port I should change to?

If I don't enable WMV on both cameras, will I still be able to view each of them over the Internet?

I do show up in the listing now. I tried several times. Usually I get an error message about Unable to Connect Back to httP . . . . etc. After fooling around and trying it several times, the last time it seems to have connected.
Added: 09/15/2009 - 03:54 PM

The video server is required only for windows media streams.
If you don't have it on you can still get JPEG images and Motion JPEG streams from the internet.