Quick Search:
Quick Jump:

Announcements
Latest Topics

Novice here - Local Save Acitve checked - but no video in directory
By: GarySa
Topics: 0
Added: 03/13/2010 - 05:04 PM

I am getting pics on motion detection; however, not getting any video. I have the "Local Save Active" checked...

Wuzzup?
By: MelvinG
Topics: 661
Added: 03/13/2010 - 09:06 PM

If you are wanting to save AVI (or WMV) video you need to use Video Save rather than Local Save. Video Save records an actual video clip when motion is detected.

First, go to Cameras and remove your camera from the device list. The add it back in (Add Cam button) but this time change the Capture Interface selection to VideoCapX instead of the default TyCapture. Once this is done, bring up the camera's Config and you'll find a new item in the "tree" of config items: "Video Save".

Here are the dox on how to set up Video Save:

http://www.abelcam.com/en/abelwiki/VideoSave

Alternatively, if you want to make something more like a time-lapse video, you could keep using Local Save to capture still shots. Once you have a collection of stills you can use "jpeg2video" tool (see Start Menu -> AbelCam -> Tools) to make a video out of your stills...
Added: 03/13/2010 - 10:53 PM

Hey Thanks!!! I followed your rec and I was able to generate videos...

However, it does not appear to work well with motion detection -

I tried with the "record real time" - but I could only get it to record by "start recording" and it did not stop even though I left the room for 15 minutes...

I also tried the "Record with single Frame" and selected to continue to record for 30 seconds, but it only captured one frame..

Sorry for being such a novice... but I do appreciate your help!!!

Added: 03/14/2010 - 02:21 AM

You wrote:

I also tried the "Record with single Frame" and selected to continue to record for 30 seconds, but it only captured one frame..

----